N Masters

News and Announcements => Help => Topic started by: wildgoosespeeder on March 24, 2016, 01:09:00 PM

Title: Smash/Kart/Splatoon Cards "Could Not Open Socket" Error
Post by: wildgoosespeeder on March 24, 2016, 01:09:00 PM
There seems to be a glitch going on with the N Masters card generators. I don't think anyone can create cards or level them up!
Title: Re: Smash/Kart/Splatoon Cards "Could Not Open Socket" Error
Post by: Link-NM on March 25, 2016, 01:30:43 AM
There seems to be a glitch going on with the N Masters card generators. I don't think anyone can create cards or level them up!

Splatoon Cards seem to be fine, actually. It seems the problem is only affecting the Mario Kart 8 and Smash 4 cards.



Actually, it seems the problem is related to the ReCaptcha from Google. So if you are logged in to the site, you can still create or level up a Splatoon card. (Not if you are logged off, though, since that uses ReCaptcha)



Do you have an idea of when the error started showing up? (I have a feeling the problem may be related with a recent server switch we had)
Title: Re: Smash/Kart/Splatoon Cards "Could Not Open Socket" Error
Post by: wildgoosespeeder on March 25, 2016, 03:59:17 AM
Do you have an idea of when the error started showing up? (I have a feeling the problem may be related with a recent server switch we had)

Around 24-hours ago I started noticing a problem. There hasn't been any new cards since then!
Title: Re: Smash/Kart/Splatoon Cards "Could Not Open Socket" Error
Post by: Link-NM on March 26, 2016, 05:38:17 PM
Around 24-hours ago I started noticing a problem. There hasn't been any new cards since then!

Hmm.. do you remember if it was still working on the 22 of this month (Tuesday)? Either way, I'll be testing a fix today.
Title: Re: Smash/Kart/Splatoon Cards "Could Not Open Socket" Error
Post by: wildgoosespeeder on March 26, 2016, 10:19:17 PM
Hmm.. do you remember if it was still working on the 22 of this month (Tuesday)? Either way, I'll be testing a fix today.

I think so.
Title: Re: Smash/Kart/Splatoon Cards "Could Not Open Socket" Error
Post by: Link-NM on March 28, 2016, 11:42:35 AM
Tried a different method to connect to Google but it seems it didn't work. I sent a message to our host already.

UPDATE: So... it's fixed.. apparently, XD . Honestly, it is quite odd since the fix was on a file that is not even being loaded at all. I mean.. it doesn't even exist on the directory where the Smash and the Splatoon cards are, it's a left over file that only exists in the Mario Kart 8 cards directory.
Title: Re: Smash/Kart/Splatoon Cards "Could Not Open Socket" Error
Post by: wildgoosespeeder on August 28, 2016, 07:19:00 PM
I think this issue is happening again just now.
Title: Re: Smash/Kart/Splatoon Cards "Could Not Open Socket" Error
Post by: Link-NM on August 29, 2016, 10:33:37 AM
I think this issue is happening again just now.

Seems like this time it was a temporary issue with Google as it's now working fine on my side. Thanks for the report, though.